Kale Garlic Waffles

Like all vegans I weekly stare into my vegetable crisper, willing limp tendrils of kale to cook themselves beyond a monotonous garlic and olive oil sauté. Kale waffles deftly solve such quotidian vegan-world problems.

I fear The Bitter so I only pureed a cup of kale to add nutrition and technicolor without evoking memories of grassy kale-grit smoothies. Know that these verdant pretties pack a garlic wallop: my mother haughtily turned on the fan to rid the kitchen of garlic stench after cleanup. Using one jalapeno I barely detected any spice, so others similarly capsaicin-addicted will want to add up to 3 jalapenos depending on your masochistic tolerance.

Ironically, I still have oodles of kale left. Ideas?

Takes 20-30 minutes
Makes 2 1/2 waffles

1 cup kale, very tightly packed and stems removed
3 cloves garlic
1-3 jalapenos, diced
1 1/2 cups almond milk
1 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
1 1/2 tsp ground cumin
2 T coconut oil

1. In a food processor or blender, puree the kale, garlic cloves, jalapeno(s), and 1 cup almond milk until no large chunks remain. A Vitamix or Magic Bullet is ideal to get a completely smooth end product, but I used an ancient food processor and it was still quite tasty.

2. Preheat waffle iron. In a large mixing bowl, sift together all-purpose flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and cumin. In a medium mixing bowl, mix the contents of the food processor (or blender) with the remaining 1/2 cup almond milk and coconut oil. Pour the wet ingredients into the dry and mix gently until combined.

3. Pour whole cups of batter onto the waffle iron and cook according to waffle iron’s instructions. Mine took 5 minutes. These pair well with (Veganomicon) cashew ricotta and sliced fresh tomatoes. Siracha and caramelized onions would also be excellent.

15 comments on “Kale Garlic Waffles

  1. ameyfm says:

    Wowsers! Those sound totally amazing! I love the idea of spreading tofu ricotta on them. Also, I love your description of limp kale. Ha ha. I totally just ate a huge bowl of steamed kale because it was going limp in the fridge. You called it!

  2. What a unique combination of ingredients. I like the idea of a savory waffle!

  3. Nice to hear I’m not the only one staring into the icebox stumped, ponderin’ at half dead leaves, roots and fruits. I’ve got so much head lettuce and spring mix from my CSA, starin’ back at me most weeks it goes right on up the spout! At least kale is worth somethin’ cooked, raw, blended into pesto, roasted into chips, mixed into baked pastas and quiches, you’ll never have to throw up the sponge.

    Now, skedaddle and get ya’self that green gold!

    XO
    The Sheriff

  4. veggieterrain says:

    Oh good heavens! The title to this post, alone, had visions of kale-filled waffles dancing through my head! What a fantastically delicious idea.

    As for me, kale often ends up dehydrated or cooked into chips, or eaten raw in an obnoxiously healthy salad…

    Love your blog – & thanks for commenting on mine!

  5. A kale and garlic waffle? I love that! I didn’t think anything could get better than kale and garlic, but put it together with waffles, and it totally does. I’m never one to turn on a fan if my kitchen smells like garlic. I think it’s better that way, but maybe I’m obsessed! :D

    You could make garlic and greens soup next. The kale cooks down quite a bit that way, and even if the leaves are a little limp, it will still be good.

  6. Oooo, savory waffles are something I haven’t attempted, I love the little flecks of green.
    You should totally make bagels with your leftover kale!

  7. THANK YOU for a new idea for kale. I <3 waffles. I've never made savoury waffles, though. I think I'm going to try these as soon as possible. I have insane amounts of kale in my garden.

  8. JL says:

    LOVE this! I linked up to you today in my week 2 round-up of awesome Vegan MoFo posts!

  9. Julia Moran Martz says:

    LOVE this! It’s recipes like this one that make me wish I had a waffle iron.

  10. So, I just made these today and they are really tasty. I used them to make wafflewiches with black bean burgers. I didn’t use any jalapenos (didn’t have any) – but I might try that another time. Even my toddler was stuffing them in like candy. She wanted peanut butter on hers.

    • Emily says:

      I’m so happy to hear you enjoyed them! In all honesty, it still fascinates me that I can post a recipe and internet people–lovely persons such as yourself–will actually make it! The image of your toddler stuffing her face with kale waffle made me smile something awful. And as she loves pb on waffles, she is clearly a smart one :)

  11. […] Kale-Garlic Waffles : These were fantastic. GooGoo even loved them. I can’t remember now what we ate ON them (if anything), but they were good just buttered and munched. […]

Comments? Questions? Suggestions?

